Inaugural Year 2007

The Philip Johnson Glass House, a National Trust Historic Site, celebrated its public opening with an Inaugural Gala Picnic on June 23, 2007, allowing guests an unprecedented opportunity to experience the visionary 47-acre site, located in New Canaan, CT, designed by Philip Johnson. Oldcastle Glass was the inaugural sponsor of this historic event. All proceeds from the inaugural events will go toward the purchase of 4 acres to the north of the site to protect the viewshed from the Glass House against future development.


To capture the inspired reflections from guests who attended the opening of this National Trust Historic Site, a film project Glass House Openings, was launched on the occasion of the Glass House's 2007 Inaugural Gala Picnic. Film Director: Rafael Esquer of Alfalfa Studio.


Inaugural Year Gala Underwriters 
Oldcastle Glass

Inaugural Year Donors 
Art Basel • Marshall Allan + Karen LaGatta •Kay Bearman • Bob + Susan Bishop • Betty Branch • Douglas Marshall Brinkley • Carolyn Brody • Arthur + Lyn Chivvis • Andrew Clarkson • Cultural Landscape Foundation • Jenny Emerson • Mark + Bobbie Fisher • Impala Asset Management • Johan + Kristen Eveland • Peter Malkin • Merritt Parkway Conservancy • Robert A.M. Stern Architects • UBS • Tiffany & Co. • Sotheby's • Yale School of Architecture

Kurt Anderson, Cynthia Bronson Altman, Kay Bearman, Adelaide de Menil, Steve + Roberta Denning, Woodson + Christina Duncan, Michael Formica + Robert Hiemstra, Mark Fletcher + Tobias Meyer, Caren Forbes, Paul Goldberger, William + Victoria Grace, Pamela Gores, Wanda Gulley, Mr.+ Mrs. Gerald Hines, Robert Holleyman, Fredericka Hunter, Catherine + Doug Johnston, Susan + Peter Lawrence, Lewis Lloyd, Liz Logie Designs, Michael Maharam, Richard + Susan Marcus, Don + Amanda Martocchio, Richard Meier, Tracy + Joe Merrill, Deborah Nevins, Peter Norton + Gwen Adams, David Piscuskas, Ron Radziner, Jody Oberfender + Juergen Riehm, David Rockefeller, Deedie Rose, Scott Sabbagh, Peter + Karen Sallick, Walter Sedovic, Mr + Mrs Peter Seldin, Robert A.M. Stern, Calvin Tsao + Zack McKown, Taylor + Mark Ullman, Veuve Clicquot, Lella + Massimo Vignelli, Voss Water, Robert + Joanna Williams, Waterworks

Visitor Center Sponsors
Knoll, Inc. • FSB Fixtures • Pentagram • Interface-FLOR

June 23, 2007

The Event


Photos©Patrick McMullan- Will Ragozzino/PMc


Photos © Steve Brosnahan

The People


from left to right: (1) Trevor Carlson, executive director of the Merce Cunningham Dance Co.; Christy MacLear, executive director of the Philip Johnson Glass House (2) Adam Fisher; and Yves Behar, founder of San Francisco-based fuseproject (3) Christy MacLear; Rosamond Bernier; John Russell (4) Christophe de Menil


from left to right: (1) Jennifer Van Etten; Philip Dempsey, a Philip Johnson nephew; Elizabeth Lorig (2) Helen Klisser During; Frances Palmer, a potter whose work is featured in the Glass House Shop (3) Jason Kaufman; Jan Rothschild, Vice President for Communications at the National Trust for Historic Preservation; Wim de Whitt,Getty Research Institute; (4) Ron Radziner, L.A.based architect and principal at Marmol Radziner; Julius Shulman, legendary architectural photographer

from left to right: (1) Peter Stamberg; Julius Shulman (2) Artists Frank Stella and Jasper Johns (3) Rod Waywell;, Lisa Dennison, Director of the Guggenheim Museum in New York; and Ted Hathaway, CEO of Oldcastle Glass

Photos © Patrick McMullan–Will Ragozzino/PMc

from left to right: (1) Merce Cunningham; Christy MacLear (2) Christy MacLear; Mary Warburg (3) An interview (4) Cecily Brown and Nicolai Ouroussoff, New York Times architecture critic, inside the Glass House

Photos © Steve Brosnahan

Presenting Sponsor




my not ready for prime time stuff here